Skip to main content

The Hebrew Alphabet

FormFinal FormNamePronunciation
א Aleph Silent
בּ (ב) Beth Hard – B as bat Soft – V as very
גּ (ג) Gimel G in goat
דּ (ד) Daleth Hard – D in done
Soft – Th in them
ה He H in hot
ו Waw (vav) W as in with
ז Zayin Z in zoom
ח Heth Ch in character
ט Teth T in tone
י Yodh Y in you
כּ (כ) ך (ךּ) Kaph Hard - K in keep
Soft – Ch as in bach
ל Lamedh L in let
מ ם Mem M in mom
נ ן Nun N in net
ס Samekh S in sun
ע Ayin Silent
פּ (פ) ף Pe Hard - P in play
Soft – Ph as in phew
צ ץ TSadhe Ts in tsar
ק Qoph Q in antique
ר Resh R as right
שׂ Sin S in summer
שׁ Shin S in shop
תּ (ת) Taw Hard – T in take
Soft – Th in three
שׂ and שׁ are consider the same consonant.
The Hebrew alphabet has twenty-two consonants.
The Hebrew language is written from the right to the left.
Five consonants are modified when at the end of a word.
Six consonants have two ways of pronunciation (hard and soft).

The five consonants that have final ending form changes.

Primary Form Secondary Form
כ ך
נ ן
פ ף
צ ץ
מ ם

Five consonants are pronounced with a strong or soft emphasis.

These are known by the beghadh kephath mnemonic. When written with a dot inside the letter, called a daghesh lene (כּ), they are pronounced with a hard sound.
ת פ כ ד ג ב
תּ פּ כּ דּ גּ בּ
Alpeh (א) and Ayin (ע) are guttural consonants pronounced with a slight audible breath; hence in English they are considered to be silent.